Schengen Visitor Visa

Schengen Visitor Visa

The Schengen Visitor Visa, also known as the Schengen Visa, allows travelers to visit and move freely within the Schengen Area. The Schengen Area comprises 29 European countries that have abolished passports and other types of border control at their mutual borders.

Types of Schengen Visas

1. Uniform Schengen Visas (USV):

   -Category A (Airport Transit Visa): Allows the traveler to transit through the international zone of the Schengen country airport without entering the Schengen Area.

   – Category C (Short-term Visa): Allows the traveler to stay in the Schengen Area for up to 90 days within a 180-day period. This is the most common type of visa issued for tourism, business, family visits, etc.

2. Limited Territorial Validity Visas (LTV):

   – Allows the holder to travel only in the Schengen State(s) that issued the visa.

3. National Visas:

   – Issued for longer stays (more than 90 days) and typically for study, work, or residence purposes in a specific Schengen country.

Important Considerations

– Validity: The Schengen Visa’s validity is typically up to 90 days within a 180-day period. This means that once you enter the Schengen Area, you can stay for up to 90 days, and you must leave for at least 90 days before you can re-enter.

– Multiple Entries: Depending on your visa, you may be allowed single, double, or multiple entries into the Schengen Area.

– Extension: Extending a Schengen Visa is generally not possible unless there are exceptional circumstances such as medical reasons or other unforeseeable events.

Make sure to start the application process well in advance of your planned travel dates to ensure you have enough time to gather all necessary documents and complete the application process.